New directions in vocal and instrumental chamber music . . .

Michael's ​Blog

​Playlist - Sunday, February 7, 2016 - 7:00-900 PM 


For female vocal quartet

       03       Villemann Og Magnhild (Villemann and Magnhild) - Mediaeval ballad, after Kalenda Maya

       02       So Ro, Godt Barn (Rest Now, Sweet Child) - traditional Norwegian folk hymn, Vestfold/Arr. Tone Krohn

       09       Rolandskvadet (The Song of the Roland) - Mediaeval ballad, Telemark

Performer: Trio Mediaeval (Anne Maria Friman, Linn Andrea Fuglseth, Torunn Østrem Ossum);

Birger Mistereggen, percussion

CD: Folk Songs - 2007 ECM Records


BEATUS PARVO, Op. 117 - Vagn Gylding Holmboe

For chorus and orchestra

Text: Verses 1-5, 10 and 11 from Psalm 32 (31) of the Bible - sung in Latin

       08       I.   Beati quorum (Blessed are they whose iniquities have been forgiven) - Tranquillo - 4:30

       09       II.  Quoniam tacue (For while I was silent) - Espansivo - 3:30

       10       III. Delictum meum (I will acknowledge my offense to you) - Moderato - 4:56

       11       IV. Multa flagella (Many are the scourges of the sinner) - Allegro - 4:55

Performer: Danish National Opera Choir; Aalborg Symphony Orchestra; Owain Arwel Hughes, conductor

CD: Vagn Holmboe: Chamber Concertos and Beatus Parvo - BIS 2005


ON THE WINGS OF LOVE, Op. 38 (2006) - Ian Venables
For tenor, clarinet, and piano

Texts: Constantine Cavafy, Garcia Lorca, Jean de Sponde, Emperor Hadrian, Robert Frost, William Butler Yeats

      01        I. Ionian Song - Constantine P. Cavafy (1863–1933) - 4:43
                  (Translation by George Barbanis; Dedicated to Ned Rorem)

      02        II. The Moon Sails Out - Federico García Lorca (1898–1936) - 2:31
                  (Translation by Robert Bly; Dedicated to Ian Flint)

       03      III. Sonnet XI - Jean de Sponde (1557–1595) - 6:10
                  (Translation by Gilbert F. Cunningham; Dedicated to Graham Lloyd)

       04     IV. Epitaph - The Emperor Hadrian (76–138 AD) - 2:47
                  (Translation by Royston Lambert; Dedicated to Kenneth Prendergast)

       05      V. When you are Old - William Butler Yeats (1865–1939) - 6:50
                  (Dedicated to Gilly Lowson)

Performer: Andrew Kennedy, tenor; Richard Hosford, clarinet; Iain Burnside, piano

CD: Ian Venables: On the Wings of Love; Venetian Songs - Naxos 2010


THE SALVAGE MEN (2015) - Jeff Beal
For a cappella choir

       01       I.   A Very Long Moment - Oscar Wilde - 6:01

       02       II.  Spiderweb - Kay Ryan 5:04

       03       III. Virga - Kay Ryan - 5:48

       04       IV. Age - Kay Ryan - 3:59

       05       V.  Salvage - Kay Ryan - 6:44

Performer: Eric Whitacre Singers; Eric Whitacre, conductor

CD: Jeff Beal: THE SALVAGE MEN - Unquiet (2015)


WINTER MORNING WALKS (2012) - Maria Schneider

For soprano, jazz combo, and orchestra 

Texts: Ted Kooser

       01       I.     Perfectly Still This Solstice Morning - 3:34

       02       II.    When I Switched On a Light - 1:54

       03       III.   Walking by Flashlight - 3:51

       04       IV.   I Saw a Dust Devil This Morning - 2:45

       05       V.    My Wife and I Walk the Cold Road - 3:57

       06       VI.   All Night, in Gusty Winds - 2:20

       07       VII.  Our Finch Feeder - 1:25

       08       VIII. Spring, The Sky Rippled with Geese - 2:24

       09       IX.   How Important It Must Be - 6:05

Performer: Dawn Upshaw, soprano; Frank Kimbrough, piano; Scott Robinson, alto/bass clarinet;

Jay Anderson, bass; Australian Chamber Orchestra; Maria Schneider, conductor

CD: Winter Morning Walks – ArtistShare (2013)



Three songs inspired by and incorporating the music of Bela Bartok - Moira Smiley.

For female vocal trio and cell

       01       Zelena (Green Mikrokosmos) - 2:15

       08       Out of a Child - 2:42

       10       Rano (Early Morn’ Mikrokosmos) originally titled “Bartok 148” and based on Mikrokosmos #148 - 3:06

Performer: Moira Smiley & VOCO

CD: Small Worlds - Whim Records (2009)



Three jazz ballads after poems by the 19th century French poet

Charles Baudelaire (2012) – Harald Banter 
For a cappella vocal quintet

Texts: Sung in German; translations of the original French poems

       03       I.  Abendharmonie (Evening Harmony) – 4:05

       04       II. An eine kreolische Frau (To a Creole Woman) – 2:31

       05       III. Hymne (Hymn to Beauty) – 3:34

Performer: Calmus Ensemble (German vocal ensemble); Elke Heidenreich, conductor

CD: Nachtgedanken (Night Thoughts) - Carus 2014

Artistic Director and Conductor Michael Tamte-Horan's blog is devoted to information about CANTATICA concert program's (repertoire, composers, recordings, videos, and musical scores) and Michael's radio program, First Sunday on Hearing Voices, WDIY Allentown, 88.1 FM and, heard the first Sunday of every month, 7:00-9:00 PM.

First Sunday on Hearing Voices is heard the first Sunday of each month, 7:00-9:00 PM, on WDIY Allentown 88.1 FM and (LISTEN LIVE). The program focuses on new music for solo voices, vocal chamber ensembles, and choirs - contemporary classical music, music of the theater, as well as new arrangements of a wide assortment of music including traditional folk hymns, songs and spirituals; popular music standards, and even some vocal jazz. All created and performed by classical musicians.

In conjunction with the program, the listener is here provided an opportunity to view texts and translations of many of the works played on the playlist. To access texts to works appearing on the playlist below, just click on the green "TEXTS" button to the right of each title.

To listen live to First Sunday on Hearing Voices online, click HERE to go to the WIDY home page, and the click on the gray bar at the top of the home page.

We would enjoy hearing what you think about the program and/or the texts link component, as well as any suggestions you may have. To offer comments, please complete the "Contact Michael" form to the right or contact Michael directly at