PROGRAM - EPIPHANY/WINTER - Sunday, January 7, 2018


07       The Three Kings (2004) - Jonathan Dove (British, b. 1959) - 4:37

Text: 20th century English writer and poet Dorothy L. Sayers

Performer: Gabrieli; Paul McCreesh, conductor

CD: Incarnation - Signum 2013


A BOY WAS BORN, Op. 3: Choral variations for men's, women's and boys' voices, unaccompanied (organ ad lib) - Edward Benjamin Britten, Baron Britten of Aldeburgh (English composer, conductor and pianist, 1913-1976)

Text: Ten different texts dating from the 15th and 16th centuries, with one by 19th century English poet Christina Rossetti.

11       Theme: A Boy Was Born - Anon. 16th century English - 2:15
12       Variation 1: Lullay, Jesu - Anon. 16th century English - 3:43
13       Variation 2: Herod - Anon. 16th century English - 2:03
14       Variation 3: Jesu, as Thou art our savior - Anon. 15th century English - 3:08
15       Variation 4: The Three Kings - Anon. 15th century English - 3:42
16       Variation 5: In the Bleak Midwinter - by 19th century English poet Christina Rossetti and Corpus Christi Carol:

           Anon. 16th English - 5:19
17       Variation 6 (Finale): Noel!, Welcome Yule - Anon. 16th century; Christmas - by 16th century English poet

           Thomas Tusser; and A Christmas Carol - by 17th century English poet Francis Quarles - 9:00

Performer: Nicholas Algot Swensen, soprano; Gabrielli; Paul McCreesh, founder, Artistic Director and conductor

CD: Incarnation - Signum 2013


14       The Darkling Thrush (2009?) – Patrick Hawes (British, b. 1958) - 5:04

Text: Poem by the Victorian novelist and poet Thomas Hardy

Performer: David Stout, baritone; Patrick Hawes, piano

CD: Fair Albion: Visions of England - Signum Records (2009)


01       For Now I Am Winter (2013?) - Olafur Arnalds (Icelandic multi- instrumentalist, producer and composer, b.

           1985) - 4:46

Performer: Voces8

CD: Winter - Decca 2016


A WINTER COME (1967) - Morten Johannes Lauridsen (American composer, b. 1943. Distinguished Professor of Composition at the University of Southern California. Named an “American Choral Master” by the National Endowment for the Arts in 2006 and awarded the National Medal of Arts, the highest award given to artists by the United States government, in 2007.

For soprano and piano

Text: from a collection of poems of the same name by 20th century American poet, dramatist and critic, Howard Moss

04       I.   When Frost Moves First - 1:12
05       II.  As Birds Come Nearer - 2:11
06       III. The Racing Waterfall - 0:58
07       IV. A Child Lay Down - 2:07
08       V.  Who Reads by Starlight - 0:51
09       VI. And What of Love - 3:06

Performer: Jane Thorngren, Soprano; Ralph Grierson, Piano

CD: Lauridsen: Northwest Journey - RCN/Rubedo Canis Musica (2000)


MOORLAND ELEGIES for mixed choir and string orchestra (2015) - Tõnu Kõrvits  (Estonian, b. 1969)

Texts: Poems by Emily Brontë - Emily Jane Brontë, the short-lived 19th century English novelist and poet, best known for her only novel, Wuthering Heights.

01       I           Come, Walk with Me - 5:52
09       IX        Month after Month - 8:35

Performers: Jaanika Kilgi, soprano (9); Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir; Tallinn Chamber Orchestra; Risto Joost, conductor

CD: MOORLAND ELEGIES by Tõnu Kõrvits - Estonian Music Information Centre 2015


WINTER MORNING WALKS (2012) - Maria Schneider (Minnesota-based American composer and big-bandleader, b. 1960)

Text: poems selected from the book Winter Morning Walks: 100 Postcards to Jim Harrison by American poet, Ted Kooser, US Poet Laureate 2004-2006, winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 2005.

01       I.      Perfectly Still This Solstice Morning - 3:34
02       II.     When I Switched on a Light - 1:54
03       III.    Walking by Flashlight - 3:51
04       IV.    I Saw a Dust Devil This Morning - 2:45
05       V.     My Wife and I Walk the Cold Road - 3:57
06       VI.   All Night, in Gusty Winds - 2:20
07       VII.  Our Finch Feeder - 1:25
08       VIII. Spring, The Sky Rippled with Geese - 2:24
09       IX.   How Important It Must Be - 6:05

Performer: Dawn Upshaw, soprano (for whom WINTER MORNING WALKS was written); Frank Kimbrough, piano; Scott Robinson, alto/bass clarinet; Jay Anderson, bass; Australian Chamber Orchestra; Maria Schneider, conductor

CD: Winter Morning Walks – ArtistShare (2013)


03       Winter - Rebecca Dale (British composer, b. 1985) - 5:03

Text: English lyricist/librettist Tamsin Collison

14       The Snow It Melts the Soonest - Traditional British folk song/Arr. Geoff Lawson (British composer and arranger,

           b. ?) - 3:35

For a cappella chorus and harp

Performer: Eleanor Turner, harp; Voces8

CD: Winter - Decca Music Group 2016

First Sunday on Hearing Voices is heard the first Sunday of each month, 7:00-9:00 PM, on WDIY Allentown 88.1 FM and (LISTEN LIVE). The program focuses on new music for solo voices, vocal chamber ensembles, and choirs - contemporary classical music, music of the theater, as well as new arrangements of a wide assortment of music including traditional folk hymns, songs and spirituals; popular music standards, and even some vocal jazz. All created and performed by classical musicians.

To listen live to First Sunday on Hearing Voices online, click HERE to go to the WIDY home page, and the click on the gray bar at the top of the home page.

I would enjoy hearing what you think about the program as well as any suggestions you may have. To get in touch with me, please complete the "Contact Michael" form to the right or contact Michael directly at


New directions in vocal and instrumental chamber music . . .

Michael's ​Blog

Artistic Director and Conductor Michael Tamte-Horan's blog is devoted to information about CANTATICA concert program's (repertoire, composers, recordings, videos, and musical scores) and Michael's radio program, First Sunday on Hearing Voices, WDIY Allentown, 88.1 FM and, heard the first Sunday of every month, 7:00-9:00 PM.